Home - Daikoku-nagare English  | Site Map

  Hakata Gion Yamakasa
  About Yamakasa
  Event Schedule
  Daikoku Route Map
  Hakata Matsubayashi
  Event Schedule

Daikoku-nagare is one of the seven nagare (area) in the Hakata District of Fukuoka City, Japan. The seven nagare derives from Taiko-machiwari in which Hideyoshi Toyotomi determined the borderlines of the areas in the Hakata District. Until the early days of the Meiji era, Daikoku-nagare had been called Susaki-nagare. The name of Daikoku-nagare originates from Daikoku-ten (Ookuninushi-no-mikoto) who is one of the seven Gods of Fortune. Every year, Daikoku-nagare dedicates Hakata-Matsubayashi in May and Hakata-Gion-Yamakasa in July.

Mask of Daikoku-ten as a remembrance of Hakata-Matsubayashi

Nagare is a self-governing organization consisting of several regions. It derives from Taiko-machiwari in which Hideyoshi Toyotomi determined the borderlines of the areas in the Hakata District in order to recover the damages from wars some 420 years ago.

Daikoku-nagare consists of twelve regions which are located along the east side of Hakata River. Various events of Daikoku-nagare are practiced by an agreement of all the regions. Since the Middle Ages, Hakata District has adopted a self-governing system by its residents. At present, the same system can be observed in Daikoku-nagare: the self-government of each region is respected to the maximum degree and the centralization of power/authority to a specific region/person is avoided.

At the final moment of determination of an event and final agreement of promises, a special clap called Te-ippon is practiced in the Hakata District. In Daikoku-nagare, at the end of meetings of all regions, Te-ippon is utilized in order to confirm that all the attendants of the meeting will not object to the determination and agreement, so that, events can be conducted smoothly with the collaboration of all twelve regions. In this manner, conventions and tradition have been handed down from parents to their children, and from seniors to juniors.

The current twelve regions of Daikoku-nagare are not administrative divisions. They are the product of the reorganization of old regions in order for Daikoku-nagare to operate Yamakasa and Matsubayashi. Daikoku-nagare has suffered from Hakata-Daikuushuu (airbomb attack on the Hakata District), the reorganization of the borderlines of regions carried out by Fukuoka City, and the redevelopment of Shimo-Kawabata area. However, these crises were overcome by the efforts of residents, and as a result, the current twelve regions have been maintained.

On May 3 and 4 every year, Daikoku-nagare dedicates Hakata-Matsubayashi which is recognized as the origin of Hakata Dontaku Festival. It also dedicates Hakata Gion Yamakasa, from July 1 to 15 every year, to Kushida Shrine which is the main village shrine of the Hakata District.

  Home | Back to Top